Comic Installment…

My youngest son Wyatt and I started drawing comics together about four years ago. Wyatt wanted to share his imaginative stories, visually, with others. I wanted to keep a daily journal of farm life. Although I do not draw as much as I used to, Wyatt is still going strong! Here is his most recent  installment of “Farmer Father, City Son”from the January issue of the Cabot Chronicle.

Last winter I sat in on one of Wyatt’s comic drawing club class at Montpelier’s Kellogg Hubbard Library . They were making these little comic books, made from a single sheet of paper folded into eight pages. On each of these pages they were encouraged to tell a story of their choosing. I decided to make one on the Vermont seasons. The seasons I chose were; Sugaring, Mud, Spring, Summer, Tourist, Deer, and Winter. Each season had a picture and a story. The summer picture panel was compressed between two vise-like clamps. The winter panel had a picture of a Vermonter holding a shovel and thinking of Florida.

Will's comic class drawing

These wonderful classes  are held during the winter months on friday afternoons. They were run by Ben Matchstick (www.kellogghubbard.org/), with help from Pete Talbot (Check out Pete’s blog at Petetalbot.blogspot.com). The energy the kids have centered around drawing cartoons is contagious. I wish I took more time to put images to paper. Wyatt keeps at his drawing with both the classes and signing up to do a regular, monthly, comic in the Cabot Chronicle.

I love being able to show off  Wyatt’s work. I am a proud father seeing his delight in talking to people about his comics and drawing, and just a little jealous of his time, his imagination and his commitment to his art. He’s hard at work on the next edition of Farmer Father, City Son-If you’re in  Cabot be sure to look for it in the paper!

 

4 responses to “Comic Installment…

Leave a Reply

